I am me

Today’s Daily Prompt is “Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?”

I don’t have children so I can’t answer the last question.

My name, however, is Nicole.

According to Meaning-of-Names.com and many other sites that I’ve looked at, Nicole is a name that originated in France and means, happily for me, “victory of the people.” I’m not 100% sure I’m a victory of the people, but I’ll take it.

My parents didn’t name me Nicole expecting me to be a victory of the people, however.

No, they named me after Santa Claus.

No lie.

I was born two days before Christmas and Santa Claus is also St. Nicholas and I am Nicole.

I think I like that better than victory of the people…

9 thoughts on “I am me

Leave a Reply

