Movie Review: “Star Trek Into Darkness”

I’m a Trekkie of sorts. Let’s just lay that out there. (Best captain ever? Janeway.)

Anyway, I went to see Star Trek Into Darkness for a few different reasons.

  1. Like I said, I’m a Trekkie of sorts.
  2. I liked the first Chris Pine as Kirk movie.
  3. I was very much intrigued by the fact that the bad guy, as played by Benedict Cumberbatch, appeared human.
  4. It seemed like something fun to do. Because, really, there is no better reason.

Going in, I’d heard some of the discussion that the trailers made it look like the movie would be a rehash of Wrath of Khan but that didn’t concern me. Mostly because I don’t remember if I’ve ever seen that movie. I don’t think I have. Even if I had, I’d like to think that I’m open-minded and imaginative enough to realize that this is science fiction, not some treatise on real and true exploration of space. Seriously. Who cares?

And that’s the feeling I walked away with.

The movie was awesome.

So good that absolutely none of that matters to me.

Yes, Khan was in the movie. Yes, Google tells me that they kept most of his backstory but changed some of the plot. Again, who cares? Not me.

Cumberbatch was the perfect villain. I read one article where someone argued that part of what made him so good was that his voice is sort of a mix of Alan Rickman, Ian McKellen, and Patrick Stewart having an elocution contest. Maybe that’s it. I remember reading that Charlie Bewley said he kept his British accent for the non-British Demetri in Twilight because everyone expects villains to speak British. Maybe that’s true.

Best actor, even above Cumberbatch, Pine, and Quinto, would have to be Karl Urban as ‘Bones’ McCoy. Or maybe Simon Pegg as Scotty.

I’m not going back to the theater to see it again, and I don’t know that I’ll buy the DVD but I will definitely get it from Redbox or watch it when it’s on TV.

Did you see it? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

