Ramblings of a post-apocalyptic mind…

Confused by the title of this post?

So am I, and I wrote it.

“Mind” might not be the exact right word, but it’s the best I can think of. So allow me to explain my post-apocalyptic mind…

It’s more of a mindset, I suppose. You see, I’m very much into all things post-apocalypic lately; The Hunger GamesRevolutionThe Walking Dead and that realization has got me wondering why I’m so into all things post-apocalyptic.

The ever trusty Wikipedia defines post-apocalyptic fiction as, “… (is) set in a world or civilization after such a disaster. The time frame may be immediately after the catastrophe, focusing on the travails or psychology of survivors, or considerably later, often including the theme that the existence of pre-catastrophe civilization has been forgotten (or mythologized),” and goes on to say that there was a rise in the popularity of the genre after World War II when the threat of nuclear war hung heavily over the world.

So why is popular now? With me and with so many other people.

Is it because, as a society, we’ve become so disillusioned with the economy, politics, and the general decline of society itself that we fear, and are therefore preparing for, a post-apocalyptic world? Or have we simply become so attached to our material world that we’ve tired of it enough that we’ve begun to imagine life without material things ruling our every thought and action? Or, and this relates most to The Walking Dead and other supernatural post-apocalyptic fiction, are we confronting our fears about the great, ever-present unknown by including such fantastical things as zombies, vampires, and aliens?  Are these worlds, semi-imaginary at best, simply easier to deal with  than what confronts us everyday?

I don’t know the answer to why we love post-apocalyptic worlds. I don’t even know why I love them. I just do. And that’s enough for me.

It’s also why this post was definitely rambling…

Leave a Reply

