Technology still hates me.

I’m beginning to feel like I should have lived in 1812 or 1912 instead of 2012 considering my ever evolving love/hate (most hate) relationship with technology. I don’t hate it, mind you, it hates me. That being said, maybe 1812 or 1912 would just have seen me get my arm stuck in a threshing machine or gas lamps explode in my face.

Anyway, what’s my latest issue with technology, you ask? Or maybe you don’t. Either way, I’m going to tell you.

It’s my cell phone. Last week, when the clocks went back an hour, my phone didn’t automatically adjust for the time change. Figuring it was old, because it was, and maybe that’s why, I waited. Nothing happened. So I emailed the company (Virgin Mobile USA, thank you very much…or little). They promised a response in 24 hours. They lied. Over the two or three days I waited for a response, my phone occasionally had the right time but then it switched back to the wrong time. When Virgin Mobile finally replied, they said to take the battery out and put it back in. That didn’t work.

Before I could send them another email, my phone died completely so I got a new one (also Virgin Mobile) – it was long past time anyway. And this is where technology really hates me. New phone has the wrong, pre-turn-the-clocks-back, time too. And I don’t know how to fix it.

And Virgin Mobile, who I contacted again, has again failed in their 24 hour reply promise.

Does anybody have any idea about how I can get the clock right? I’d like to use the alarm on my phone.

I’m beginning to hate technology…

Leave a Reply

