Better late than never, I finally watched the most recent Pirates of the Caribbean

I say “most recent” because, of course, I’ve just discovered that Pirates of the Caribbean 5 (count them, 5!) is in the works. It’ll star Johnny Depp, of course.

But I digress.

I finally got around to watching Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides. What took me so long, you ask? A few things;

  • I was not very impressed with Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End and even less so with Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest. I liked the first one, a lot.
  • I was making a silent protest against Jerry Bruckheimer and company for dropping Gore Verbinski as director, Keira Knightley and Orlando Bloom as Elizabeth and Will, and even Lee Arenberg and Mackenzie Crook as Pintel and Ragetti. Oh, and they killed Beckett and Norrington. Tom Hollander and Jack Davenport were excellent eye candy.
  • I didn’t see the point of making yet another movie other than for Disney to make more money.

What made me finally decide to watch the newest movie, you ask? A few things;

  • I haven’t seen Ian McShane in much but he seemed like the ultimate pirate villain.
  • Sam Claflin is now in Catching Fire so I thought I should check out something else he’s acted in.
  • And Johnny Depp as Captain Jack is always awesome.

So what did I think, you ask? This is what I think;

  • On Stranger Tides comes in second on my list of favorite Pirates movies, after the first one, Curse of the Black Pearl because it didn’t try as hard as 2 and 3 to be comedy and drama. There were moments of comedy, throwbacks to the first, but it seemed more settled as a drama.
  • Anjelica was miscast. Penelope Cruz is not one of my favorite actresses and I didn’t particularly like her in this movie.
  • Ian McShane was the best villain in the Pirates franchise. He brought a sort of Shakespearean vibe to Blackbeard and that was an excellent way to play off the wonkiness that is Captain Jack Sparrow.
  • Philip and Syrena (i.e. the missionary and the mermaid) are a much more likable romantic arc than Will and Elizabeth ever were. Where Will and Elizabeth mostly annoyed me, I wished there had been more of Philip and Syrena. Here’s hoping Sam Claflin and Astrid Berges-Frisbey are brought back for the next film.

I rented the movie. I think I’ll have to buy it and add it to my Pirates collection.

Have you watched it? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

