Reviewing Mumford & Sons’ “Babel”

So, I got my copy of Mumford & Sons’ Babel last Thursday. I have had it on almost non-stop since. This makes me happy. Without further ado, since I’m not actually a music critic, I’m just going to tell you what I liked best. I’d tell you what I liked worst, but I like it all so we’ll just say it’s a list of what I liked most of all.

  1. Not With Haste … I could listen to this song over and over and over again and be very happy – oh, wait! I have! So beautiful
  2. Ghosts That We Knew … incredibly haunting and hopeful at the same time, it’s why I love Mumford & Sons
  3. Hopeless Wanderer … this is one of my favorites if only because I hope the lyrics kind of, sort of describe me
  4. Holland Road … haunting and beautiful, simply put
  5. Below My Feet … this song is just inspirational
  6. The Boxer … few people can cover Simon & Garfunkel and do it well – Mumford & Sons are one of those few
  7. I Will Wait … big, bold, and awesome
  8. Broken Crown … dark, angsty, and so moving
  9. Whispers in the Dark … reminds me of their first album and why I had to buy this one
  10. Reminder … like a poem set to music, so perfect
  11. Babel … fast paced music with perfect lyrics, it makes me want to tap my foot and sing along
  12. Where Are You Now … nice slow song with excellent lyrics
  13. Lover’s Eyes … probably what passes for a love song for them, I like it – just not quite as much as the others
  14. Lover of the Light … catchy, and constantly stuck in my head
  15. For Those Below … it sounds like something folksy from the ’60s or ’70s, I like it

What do you think of the album?

Leave a Reply

