The best books I’ve ever read…

…and being the best I’ve ever read, it only stands to reason that I think you should read them to. So, peruse the list at your leisure. Hopefully you’ll find something you like. If you have thoughts about any of the books I’ve listed, tell me so in the comments. There really is nothing better than a good discussion on books. And, of course, recommend any other books you think I must read.

Without further ado:

Best book or series I read as a child … a tie between Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery and Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder

The book I’ve read and re-read and read and re-read again … A Thread of Grace by Mary Doria Russell (I literally cried when my first copy of this book got ruined by someone I lent it to. I bought another and panicked when I worked up the nerve to lend it to someone else.)

The funniest book or series I’ve read … The Agnes Browne Trilogy by Brendan O’Carroll

The best non-fiction book I’ve read recently … Rena’s Promise: A Story of Sister’s in Auschwitz by Rena Kornreich Gelissen

Best “classic” book I’ve read … The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

That’s five categories. I’m sure I’ll come up with more to add later on. Or, even better, if you happen to be reading this and want to know something else, leave the “Best…” or even “Worst…” line in a review and I’ll answer it. That sounds like a plan, right?

2 thoughts on “The best books I’ve ever read…

    • My true confession here is that I’ve never read all of Anne Frank’s Diary. I should have, but I haven’t been able to finish it yet. If you like the Holocaust first-person stories, I recommend Ellie by Livia Bitton Jackson. She was about the same age as Anne Frank and her story is just as amazing … if not more so.

Leave a Reply

