In which I pass random judgments on the movies coming out this fall…

For this particular blog post, I’m using The 25 Most Anticipated Movies of Fall 2012 list from Complex as a reference of sorts. Be sure to check out their thoughts after you’ve considered mine.

  1. Django Unchained … I will be the first to admit that I was skeptical of anything Quentin Tarantino put out, even though I hadn’t seen anything he put out – just clips. Then Christoph Waltz kept getting nominated for a Nazi role and I’m a history nerd, so I broke down and watched it. I’ll watch this for the same reason; a vague relation to history and the stars (including Waltz).
  2. Zero Dark Thirty … This is a movie about the mission to hunt down Osama bin Laden. All I can say is that it’s still too soon, far too soon, for that to be entertainment.
  3. The Master … Whether this movie is about Scientology or not (they say it isn’t), I want to see it. It’s like an art-house movie big enough to be seen by people and that’s important. Never mind that Philip Seymour Hoffman and Joaquin Phoenix rarely disappoint.
  4. Lincoln … I will watch a film Steven Spielberg made about Abraham Lincoln which starts Daniel Day-Lewis. Who wouldn’t?
  5. Skyfall … Daniel Craig is sexy, can we just get that out of the way? Daniel Craig as James Bond is even sexier. And what would a James Bond movie be if it weren’t for the sex appeal? Forget the Bond Girls, I like 007 himself just fine, thank you very much.
  6. The Man with the Iron Fists … Sooo… in the picture on Complex for this movie (here), there’s an eyeball flying out of someone’s head. I don’t think we need any more description than that, do you?
  7. Argo … I think this could be a really good movie. Enough time has passed since the hostage crisis in Iran that it can be a good piece of entertainment that also teaches anyone who watches it something about history.
  8. Looper … What’s the ridiculously confusing movies this year? Even the TV ads I’ve seen for this have me scratching my head to the point that I really don’t want to see it.
  9. This is 40 … A movie about people turning 40. As someone who recently turned 30, I’d rather not think about that (and call it entertainment) just yet. I wonder what the targeted age demo for this movie is.
  10. Seven Psychopaths … Oddly, I think I want to see this movie. Maybe it’s the cast (Christopher Walken, Colin Farrell, Woody Harrelson), but it looks good. And Complex’s description “We can’t imagine there will be a film that’s more batshit crazy than Martin McDonagh’s Seven Psychopaths this fall…” only helps me want to see it more.
  11. Wreck-It Ralph … Why shouldn’t an industry that makes movies based on board games make one based on an arcade game? At least this one has the decency to be animated. Not that that makes it more appealing to me.
  12. The Perks of Being a Wallflower … A teen flick that aspires to be more than a teen flick, it seems to me. Maybe it is, maybe it isn’t. Time will tell.
  13. Cloud Atlas … I read an article about this movie not too long ago. I also read Complex’s description. My verdict? This sounds like an infernally confusing movie. That doesn’t entertain me.
  14. Sinister … Woot! A scary movie not titled Paranormal Activity (those movies are not scary). That being said, horror isn’t my genre of choice.
  15. Not Fade Away … Seems to be a movie about a father being jealous of his rock star-ish son in 1960s New Jersey. Probably just what some people want. Not me.
  16. Killing Them Softly … A shoot ’em up gangster flick with comedic moments? Nah. In other news, I’d almost forgot Brad Pitt still acted until I saw he was listed on this.
  17. Silver Linings Playbook … This, I would see. I like movies that combine drama with comedy and having a film about a man just out of a mental hospital who befriends a troubled neighbor sounds just right. Plus, Robert DeNiro’s in it. I like him in anything that doesn’t also star Ben Stiller.
  18. Flight … A movie about an alcoholic pilot saving an endangered plane full of people? I think I’ll wait for it to be on television.
  19. Holy Motors … I just read Complex’s description of this film. I still have no idea what it’s about. That’s alright, though. I think.
  20. Paranormal Activity 4 … No. Just no.
  21. Amour … As much as I want to consider myself an artsy film lover, I don’t think I am. Maybe if I lived in a bigger city where films like this were played…
  22. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey … True confession – I fell asleep twice trying to watch the first Lord of the Rings movie. Needless to say, I never tried the others. I also haven’t been able to finish reading The Hobbit so you shouldn’t expect to see me in line for this.
  23. The Impossible … This is a movie about the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami that devastated Sumatra. A worthy topic, no doubt, but perhaps better suited for a documentary.
  24. Frankenweenie … Tim Burton’s animated take on Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein? Pass.
  25. Jack Reacher … Tom Cruise? Haven’t seen him in anything good since … um … well … Far and Away. Maybe.

And that’s the list. What do you think about Complex’s choices and my thoughts?

Leave a Reply

