Must-watch TV: NBC’s Revolution

If you watched the Olympics in the United States on NBC, chances are that you saw promos for their new post-apocalyptic (is that phrase becoming trite and overused? possibly.) drama about all the lights – and anything else the uses power of any sort (batteries included) – going out. Opting to be intrigued rather than overwhelmed by the endless ads, I deciding to watch it when it premiered. As a brief side not, it was a ratings record setter for NBC so apparently I wasn’t the only one. (source)

I followed through on that.

I was not disappointed.

The show stars Billy Burke, Tracy Spiridakos, Giancarlo Esposito, Zak Orth, David Lyons, Anna Lise Phillips, Graham Rogers, JD Pardo, Tim Guinee, Maria Howell, and Elizabeth Mitchell. Burke plays Miles,  the once soldier-now renegade who runs a speakeasy of sorts in Chicago until his niece Charlie (Spiridakos) comes to asking for his help rescuing her brother from the militia (headed by Esposito). Miles doesn’t want to go but when, after some kick ass fighting of his own, he needs rescuing by his niece, her British step-mother (who she doesn’t much like), and a former Google exec … he really has no choice but to go with them.

Both Burke and Spiridakos are perfect in their roles. I haven’t seen Spiridakos in anything else but she’s got the perfect mix of rebellious, innocent, determined, caring, and fearless. I’ve seen Burke in the Twilight films, where he stole every scene he appeared in but was tragically underused – he is the epitome of all that Miles is; bad boy, really does care about family against his better judgment, steady, determined, and all the rest.

The first episode was basically an introduction to everything. To be successful, introductions need to leave the people who spend time on them (like me) wanting more information, more details, and answers to their questions (like I do). That being said, Revolution was very successful in my humble opinion.

A random event that made it even more successful? The lights flickered in my house two times during the show and the picture on the screen scrambled three or four times. Excellently creepy accidental effects.

I had dinner with my family the day after the show premiered and our main topic of conversation was speculating about who’s really who and what’s really what on Revolution. I want to know more about Maria Howell’s character and why she has the same necklace thingy (that can turn on computers!) that Charlie’s dad gave to the Google exec. I want to know if JD Pardo’s Nate ever tells the truth to anyone about anything. I want to know why the British accented doctor had poisoned whiskey in her bag. I want to know what happened to Charlie’s mother.

I need it to be Monday again so I can watch another episode.

That, my friends, makes Revolution must-watch TV.

Leave a Reply

