Thursday Tips, June 28 – How to ease a headache

I don’t think there’s anyone who’s never had a headache. I could be wrong, but I doubt it. So, if you’ve had a headache and your usual remedies aren’t working, I’ve got a tip for you.

The way I learned it, from my mom, is this: York Peppermint Patties and Coca-Cola.

More specifically, cold (as in refrigerated) York Peppermint Patties and warm, flat Coca-Cola (to avoid the effects of carbonation).

I used to get the turn-the-lights-out, it-hurts-to-blink headaches that’d last a day or so and tylenol helped, but not completely, so my mom told me her remedy. Though decidely not diet friendly, it worked. I’ve since researched it a bit to see just why it works and I’ve discovered a lot.

Peppermint is both calming and numbing. Some people even put peppermint oil right on their foreheads or temples to relieve migraine pressure, something I’ve yet to try but would definitely be more diet friendly. For more information on peppermints and migraines, check out Migraine.com.

Coca-Cola, and more specifically caffeine, constricts a persons’ blood vessels, thereby easing their headache. Drink something with caffeine early on in your headache and it might not get so bad. Just make sure you drink it in moderation, as suggested by relieve-migraine-headache.com, or you could end up giving yourself a worse headache.

As a caveat emptor, just because this worked for me doesn’t mean it will work for you. I’m not an expert, just someone with a blog who used to get bad headaches and was helped by York Peppermint Patties and Coca-Cola.

Leave a Reply

