Thursday Tip, June 14 – Removing splinters

Don’t you hate it when you get a splinter? The most irritating ones, in my humble opinion, are the ones I occasionally get in the bottom of my foot. It’s impossible to use tweezers on the bottom of my own foot for a lot of reasons; it’s a ridiculously awkward position for the human body to be in, it tickles, I’m squeamish about tweezers to begin with, I usually can’t see the splinter anyway – only feel it. You get the idea.

Anyway, if that’s happened to you, and chances are probably good that it is, I have a solution.

Duct tape.

Seriously. Just cut a little strip of duct tape, stick it to the bottom of your foot, and then peel it off slowly.

The tape is sticky enough that anything there will be drawn out and, since the bottom of a our feet is generally some of our roughest skin, it doesn’t even hurt.

When someone suggested duct tape to me, after I whined about having a sore foot from a splinter for days, I scoffed. I really did.

Then I got desperate enough to try it and … it worked!

Try it! Next time you get a splinter, of course.

Leave a Reply

