The Hunger Games.

On Saturday, I joined the masses and went to see The Hunger Games in the theater.

It was a little annoying at first to have to pay $8.25 for a ticket; because it was a weekend in the evening, of course. But I don’t go to see movies in the theater very often, and the price of tickets has a lot to do with that, so I lived it up and bought myself a Starbucks coffee too. I love that my theater sells Starbucks.

Anyway, I’m not sorry about the cost because, to put it simply, The Hunger Games is one of the best movies I’ve seen in a very long time.

The book underwhelmed me and I was a little hesitant about seeing it adapted into a movie. I was happy to find out that my worries were for nothing. Apparently the film adaptations of Twilight, especially, and Harry Potter were simply bad enough to make me skeptical about all young adult books turned into movies.

Maybe the thing that made The Hunger Games better than all of the Twilight movies combined is that the book was short, by comparison, so the writers and director were able to add more to the story. The additions that were made; Seneca Crane, President Snow, scenes in District 11, etc., were all things that seemed almost missing from the book. They made the movie better, better even than the book and that is very rare indeed. In fact, the movie made me like the book even more. I want to re-read it now.

As a latecomer to the whole The Hunger Games franchise, I don’t really know if there was any controversy about the cast. I vaguely remember hearing that people thought Jennifer Lawrence was too old and Josh Hutcherson was too short. And I’ve more recently heard things about people being upset that Cinna and Rue were played by African-American actors, but I won’t dignify that with a response other than asking those people to read the book carefully.

Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson were absolutely perfect as Katniss and Peeta. Nothing to complain about there.

The supporting cast was all well chosen too. Donald Sutherland is the only person who could have played President Snow, Lenny Kravitz was perfect as the quietly aloof but powerful Cinna, and Woody Harrelson stole the show as Haymitch.

If you haven’t seen this movie, see it. You won’t be disappointed.

3 thoughts on “The Hunger Games.

Leave a Reply

