Exploding discs.

No, seriously, that is the topic of today’s blog. Why?

Because discs can explode in the CD-ROM drive. How do I know? Because it happened to me last Wednesday.

There I was, minding my own business and happily wasting time online while I had a disc in the drive when BAM! I haven’t been around many gunshots, but that’s what it sounded like at first, then it sounded like broken glass falling. I was worried there was a fire in my tower thingy. There wasn’t. It was just screwed.

I couldn’t get the little plastic door open, but I saw tiny pieces of my disc and I knew there was trouble.

I know people who know and like computers far better than I do, so one of them took apart my tower and we tried to get all the pieces out but there was still something rattling around inside when we put it back together.

My computer-y brother-in-law had only ever heard of discs exploding on MythBusters but said I probably was going to need a new computer. Another tech person tried to fix it but guessed that the harddrive had been fried in a power surge or something.

So I was without my computer for almost a week. I probably would have felt better without my foot!

I have a new computer now and I’ve googled to see just how common this exploding disc thing is, given that it was on MythBusters. Apparently it’s fairly common. And I got off lucky too … sometimes, it seems, the disc can shatter with such force that pieces fly right out of the CD-ROM and actually cause physical injury.

Also, in the grand scheme of things, a broken computer is pretty low on the totem pole of important things in life. I missed it, yes, but still…

Any bets on how long it’ll take me to work up the nerve to put a disc in my new drive???

Leave a Reply

