Surprising Myself With Music Choices

I’ll admit that I have strange taste when it comes to music. By strange, I mean that I have Handel’s Messiah, Lady Gaga’s Fame Monster, Il Divo’s self-titled album, and Susan Boyle’s I Dreamed A Dream on my mp3 player. Eclectic is perhaps too kind a word.

There are, however, some types of music that I have never really gotten into. R&B, hip hop, and country being the prime examples of that. However, I am re-evaluating myself. I was bored the other day so I found myself listening to online radio. I’ve come to some conclusions.

First, Lady Gaga is, for the most part, an excellent singer. Singer. Not performer. I saw the video for Born This Way months ago and had carefully avoided the song since then. Then I heard it again on the radio. Very good song. So, basically, I adore Lady Gaga as long as I don’t have to watch her perform her songs.

Second, I should have paid more attention to Rihanna. I’d heard her perform Run This Town, Umbrella, and Shut Up and Drive but didn’t like them enough to seek them out in any way. The first song I heard on online radio was S&M. And I loved it.

Third, and finally for now, is that Pink is just all sorts of awesome. I didn’t realize she sang songs like Glitter in the Air and, from there, I love most of songs.

I must be in a female singer phase because my other two new favorites are Adele and Christina Perri.

Oh, the things we learn while bored…

Leave a Reply

